The Sunday Times -Part 3

Isabell waited at the hotel reception desk, listening to the concierge as he mumbled policies and procedures. But she couldn’t care less for the cost of room service or potential parking fees, all she wanted was the damn key. Eventually, he asked for her credit card and she was on her way to a small room overlooking Central Park. She poured herself a glass of Shiraz and flicked on the TV. She couldn’t help but wonder what Robert could be doing at that very moment.

“Stupid thing,” Robert muttered as he kicked the coffee machine in the stations waiting room. It was midday now and he could feel his body craving food, but all he could think about was Isabell. All he wanted was for her to be safe.

He walked back over to the reception, “Any news yet?”

The women continued typing without so much as a glance away from the screen.

“Excuse me,” He repeated firmly, “Any news about my wife?”

She stopped. “Let me check.”

After a quick phone call she sighed, “Do you want the good news of bad news first?”

“What?”

“Ok,” she sighed, “The good news is that she is safe, as far as we can tell. She was last seen boarding a flight to New York around 11pm last night. Any reason why she could be there?

“No. I have no idea.” He frowned. “And the bad?”

“The bad news is that she’s no longer considered missing. We can’t help you anymore. She’s chosen to leave and we’re required to respect that unless we believe her to be either a harm to others, or a harm to herself.”

“What? That’s it?” Roberts voice rose. “What the hell am I supposed to do now?”

“Well, we suggest that you try contacting her first. If you can’t get in touch, then speak to her close friends and any family she may have spoken to recently. You never know, someone could know something about why she’s there.”

He winced. Of course, he was glad that she was safe, but something wasn’t right. She had had episodes before, but never had she done anything this irrational. She should have talked to him; she should have left a damn note. How hard would that have been?

“I’m sorry sir, but there’s just nothing we can do. Please contact us straight away if you do find out she could be in danger, and good luck.”

“Thank you.” He mumbled then head straight to his car. One name came to mind, Kate, he needed to speak to Kate. Of everyone, she had to know something.

“I feel empty,” Isabell said. She sat across from a woman with elegant grey hair. They were on the deck, overlooking the lake as tourists and couples laughed in rowboats along the water.

“What do you mean?”

“I’ve been living a life that I can’t keep up with. I’m not too busy, in fact I wish I were busier sometimes just to distract myself. It’s just that I feel drained, as though I can’t be here anymore. As though everything in my life is just too much, even the little things. And it shouldn’t be. The doctors said I had improved but I don’t feel it, and I don’t want to admit it to anyone, especially Robert. He has too much faith in me.” She sighed and looked out across the lake.

“I just feel empty,” Isabell continued, “So here I am.”

The women took a sip of water and frowned. “I understand, I do. But why are you here?”

“I need to finish a few things.”

“What do you mean? Here? In New York?”

“Yes.”

They gave the waiter their orders and quickly resumed talking. “I have things to see, things to do and things to feel,” Isabell began, “I missed out on my 20’s Kate. This seems like the perfect place to go back…”

 

 

© Copyright Celsie Richardson 2016.

Leave a Reply

